Legalisation of foreign marriage certificates

Marriage certificates from countries that are not exempt from legalisation, or are not on the Apostille list, must be legalised.

This is done in 3 steps:

1) The ministry that governs the authority which issued the marriage certificate must confirm the signature on the document

2) The confirmation must be approved by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in the relevant country

3) The approval must be confirmed by the Danish representation in the relevant country

Countries exempt from legalisation:

  • Europe (documentation is needed from Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Kosovo, Russia, Tajikistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan)
  • USA
  • Canada
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Turkey

Apostille convention

A number of countries have signed the Apostille convention. Marriage certificates with an Apostille stamp do not need to be legalised.