You are here

How is the Danish school system structured?

The Danish school system is divided into different stages. After public school you have a choice of different schools and educations.

A brief overview of the education system in Denmark is available on the website for the Ministry of Science Technology and Innovation.

The Danish education system consists of the following stages

  • Primary and lower secondary education (grundskole)
  • Upper secondary education (ungdomsuddannelser)
  • Higher education (videregående uddannelser)

Primary and lower secondary education

The state school in Denmark is the municipal (Folkeskole), which combines primary and lower secondary education from Year 0 to Year 10. The pre-school year (børnehaveklasse) is obligatory, and represents the transition from kindergarten or day care activities to primary school. Students are evaluated on a regular basis and must complete a number of tests at different stages of their compulsory schooling.

Upper secondary education

Upper secondary education covers 2 to 5 years of education. There are 3 choices for 16-19 year-olds covered by the umbrella term youth education programmes (ungdomsuddannelser):

  • General Upper Secondary School.
  • Technical and Commercial Upper Secondary School.
  • Vocational Education and Training.

Youth education programmes provide the student with various levels of vocational training as well as educational and personal qualifications. There are 4 different types of upper secondary education programmes in Denmark:

1. STX - gymnasium.
2. HHX - higher commercial examination programme.
3. HTX - higher technical examination programme.
4. HF - higher preparatory examination.